Earl I. Brown II Outstanding Civil Engineering Faculty Award

Earl I. Brown II

The Earl I. Brown II Outstanding Civil Engineering Faculty Award is presented annually by the Duke student chapter of Chi Epsilon, the national civil engineering honor society.

Prof. Brown was a respected engineering educator and internationally recognized expert in pre-stressed concrete design and fabrication. During a long teaching and research career at Duke, he served as J.A. Jones Professor and Chairman of Civil Engineering. He died in 2013 at the age of 95.

The names of the recipients of this award are inscribed on a plaque displayed in Hudson Hall, as well as being listed below.

2016: Joseph C. Nadeau

2015: Joseph C. Nadeau

2014: Joseph C. Nadeau

2013: Henri P. Gavin

2012: Joseph C. Nadeau

2011: Jeffrey Scruggs

2010: Amilcare M. Porporato

2009: Joseph C. Nadeau

2008: Joseph C. Nadeau

2007: Miguel A. Medina

2006: David E. Schaad

2005: Zbigniew J. Kabala

2004: Joseph C. Nadeau

2003: Joseph C. Nadeau

2002: Joseph C. Nadeau

2001: Chris Brasier

2000: Joseph C. Nadeau

1999: Joseph C. Nadeau

1998: P. Aarne Vesilind

1997: Tod A. Laursen

1996: Timothy L. Jacobs

1995: P. Aarne Vesilind

1994: Timothy L. Jacobs

1993: Timothy L. Jacobs

1992: J. Jeffrey Peirce

1991: Timothy L. Jacobs

1990: Timothy L. Jacobs

1989: Miguel A. Medina

1988: P. Aarne Vesilind

1987: K. Pete Arges

1986: Mrinmay Biswas

1984: K. Pete Arges

1983: Eric I. Pas

1982: P. Aarne Vesilind

1981: Robert J. Melosh