Robert J. Melosh Medal

Robert J. Melosh

The Robert J. Melosh Medal Competition was inaugurated in 1989 to honor Professor Melosh, a pioneering researcher in finite element methods and former chairman of civil and environmental engineering at Duke. In a professional career that included working at Boeing, Philco-Ford Laboratory, and MARC Analysis and Research Corporation, as well as teaching at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, the University of Washington, Virginia Tech, and Duke University, Professor Melosh made significant and varied contributions to the finite element method. The Competition was established in view of his body of work, and aims to reflect Professor Melosh's dedication to the education of young engineers and researchers by providing a forum for student researchers to present their work and interact with each other and with leading researchers in the field. The winner of the Competition, as determined on the basis of a submitted extended abstract and oral presentation of the paper, receives the Robert J. Melosh Medal and a $500 honorarium.

The Competition is conducted in two primary phases. Initially, extended abstracts are reviewed by a panel of distinguished researchers in computational mechanics. The next submission deadline is  January 11, 2016. The Elsevier page with instructions for the LaTeX class file and a link to download a elsarticle.cls template is available here. Then, based on this review process, the top six papers are selected as finalists, and their student authors are invited to participate in the second phase of the competition, a symposium at Duke University. The next symposium will be held on April 29, 2016. The symposium features lectures by the members of the distinguished judging panel, as well as talks by all the selected finalists. 

The names of the recipients of this medal are inscribed on a plaque displayed in the Duke University Engineering Building, as well as being listed below.

Year Recipient(s)
2015 Maurizio Chiaramonte, Stanford University
2014 Phani Motamarri, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
2013 Ju Liu, University of Texas, Austin
2011 Daniel Hurtado, Caltech
2010  Phanish Suryanarayana, Caltech
2009 Robert B. Gracie, Northwestern University
2008 Ludovic Chamoin, ENS de Cachan
Irina Kalashnikova, Stanford University
2007 Michael Hain, Leibniz University Hannover
Vikram Gavini, Caltech
2006 Honayoun Heidari, North Carolina State University
2005 Mahmoud I. Hussein, University of Michigan at Ann Arbor
2004 Juan Pablo Pontaza, Texas A&M University
2003 Prasanna Raghavan, Ohio State University
2002 Ulrich Hetmaniuk, University of Colorado, Boulder
2001 Xiaonong Meng, Duke University
2000 Aleksander Czekanski, University of Toronto
1999 John E. Dolbow, Northwestern University
1998 Serge Prudhomme, University of Texas, Austin
1997 Jerome M. Solberg, University of California, Berkeley
1996 David C. Winkler, University of Connecticut
1995 Victor G. Oancea, Duke University
James R. Stewart, Stanford University
1994 Jinmiao Zhang, Ohio State Univerisity
1993 Bhaskar Joshi, University of Saskatchewan
1992 C.R. Swaminathan, University of Minnesota
1991 Alonso Pena, I.T.E.S.M. Monterrey, Mexico
Juan B. Sainz, I.T.E.S.M. Monterrey, Mexico
1990 Ricardo F. Barbosa, University of Illinois
1989* H. Allison Smith, Duke University
R.G. Wan, University of Alberta

*Medal established.

See a list of all judges for the competition.