William Brewster Snow Award

Presented annually in recognition of demonstrated academic excellence, interest, and enthusiasm in the study of environmental engineering

William Brewster Snow
Duke Archives

William Brewster Snow, a widely respected and influential sanitation engineer, was a native of Durham, N.C. and member of the Class of 1932—among the first to earn an engineering degree from Duke.

He served on the faculty of Duke's College of Engineering from 1948-53.

Active in public life, he was a founder of the series of conferences that guided implementation of North Carolina's Stream Sanitation Law, passed in 1951.

The names of recipients of this award are inscribed on a plaque displayed in Hudson Hall.


2021: Renata Rae Starostka

2020: Alexander Weck

2019: Charles Benjamin Pearlman

2018: Karyn Elizabeth Saunders

2017: David Rosen

2016: Jack King

2015: Katherine Brock

2014: Ifeoma Anyansi


  • Grace Cambareri

  • Hunter Douglas

  • Kala Viswanathan

2012: William Greer Mackebee


  • Trisha Lowe

  • Andrew Wood

2010: Jai D. Singh

2009: Samantha E. Beardsley

2008: Lee M. Pearson

2007: Bibek Joshi

2006: Jean Foster

2005: Victor K. Victorsson

2004: Whitney Eriksson

2003: Deborah A. Seibold

2002: Kimberly A. Novick

2001: Sarah V. Dailey

2000: Lauren K. MacWilliams

1999: Alex A. Apotsos

1998: Jesse J. Sturm

1997: Amy L. Watchorn

1996: Alexander G. Agrios

1995: James P. Rizk

1994: Carolyn Nobel


  • Christine M. Petry

  • Daniel H. Loughlin

  • William L. Carson

1992: Gregory W. Council

1991: James Heydorn

1990: Hans Tandon


  • Julie B. Jennings

  • Andrea L. Ryon

1988: Sarah Elizabeth Levin

1987: Michael Kim Hillard

1986: Gerald Michael Hansler, Jr.

1985: Mike Hebert

1984: Rhett Jackson

1983: David Alexander Fairley


  • Becky Cuthbertson

  • Hal Davis


  • Mark D. Taylor

  • Martha L. Monserrate

1980: Jane Stockman


  • Patricia Gandy

  • Karl Helfrich